short film review

Reviews and news about short films, short film festivals, reviews, links and guides to short films online,images from short films,directors,writers,cinemaphotographers. Copyright 2005, 2006 by Allan Maurer. All rights reserved.

Saturday, September 23, 2006

Palm Spring's Shorts Fest Awards

The Palm Springs International Festival of Short Films in August screened 333 short films, including 74 world, 56 North American, and 16 U.S. premieres.

First place award winners are eligible to submit to the Academy for Oscar consideration.

Norwegian director Hisham Zaman's "Bawke" won the fest's best of the festival award, which includes $2,000 and software.

Award winners receiving a first place prize are automatically eligible to submit their films to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for Oscar consideration. Norwegian director Hisham Zaman's "Bawke" won the festival's best of the festival award in the jury prizes, which includes $2,000 and a package of software. It also won best narrative short at the Toronto Worldwide Short Film Festival. It's about the travails of a father and son, both illigal immigrants to Scandinavia. Alex Weil won the Future Filmaker award, for his CG animated "One Rat Short."

The Panavision Grand Jury award went to Hubert Davis' "Aruba." His prize includes a Panavision camera package valued at $60,000 and two days studio time at Palm Spring's Casablanca Studios, so look for a feature from Davis.

Vince Marcello and Israeli Leonid Prudovsky tied for the audience favorite live action short for "Zombie Prom" and "Dark Night." Best documentary went to U.S. director Desiree Handall's "Chicken." Cameron Hood and Kyle Jefferson, both Canadians, won the audience prize for animated short with "First Flight."

Best live action over 15 minutes went to Swedish director Jens Assur's "The Last Dog in Rwanda" Best live action under 15 minutes went to comedy "Happiness" by Sophie Barthes ($2,000) ($2,000). Run Wrake's "Rabbit" won best animation, and Sam Green's "Lot 63, Grave C" won best doc. Australian cinematographer Adam Arkapaw won the Kodak Award for best student cinematography for "The City Eats its Weak" and best student doc went to "Going Home" by Hung P. Nguyen and Juliet Porter's "Breathe" and Andrea Janakas' "Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves" won best student live action prizes in the "under 15 minutes" and "over "15 minutes" categories respectively.


Post a Comment

<< Home